A Day in Storybrooke

title card

About this time yesterday I laced up my adventure boots, hopped in my car, and drove up to Storybrooke, Maine.

Well, it reality it was a town called Steveston in British Columbia, Canada, which is where they film my favorite show of all time: Once Upon a Time.

20170316_114403
Road trip!

 

I’ve talked about it on here briefly before, but anybody who knows me in real life knows that I am a huge fan of the show. So, imagine my delight and surprise when I realized that the town they use to film the exterior scenes is only two hours from me.

20170316_123432
Arriving in Steveston

The day I was there was not a day they were filming, but some of the signs are left up all year round. I had a fun time walking along the streets, spotting Storybrooke signage hidden in plain sight among the rest of the regular businesses.

I had lunch at a location very well known to fans: Granny’s Diner.

A.K.A. The Cannery Cafe.

I had a truly delicious fish burger and the people there were incredibly nice. The whole town felt super welcoming! I was surprised how many people were out and about, milling around the town on a super rainy Thursday afternoon.

When I say rainy, I mean rainy. Like, dumping. When I got there it was just starting to sprinkle, but when I came out from lunch I almost got blown away. And then, as quickly as it began, it stopped. The sun didn’t come out but at least it was dry!

I’d love to be there on a day they’re actually filming. I felt a little conspicuous walking around taking pictures, so I tried to stick to phone photos and quick selfies to try to blend in at least a little. I scouted out quite a few recognizable filming locations, though!

It’s a beautiful town on the water that would be worth visiting even without the connection to the show. I definitely want to go back to spend some time at the docks in a little warmer weather.

I did a little window shopping, popped into a couple of the stores, and had fun playing with Canadian money. Haha.

And then, of course, it got sunnier and sunnier the closer I got to home. I definitely foresee another trip up there sometime in the near future – perhaps once spring finally arrives.

Anyone else watch Once Upon a Time? Have you ever been to Steveston?

Leave a Reply

